Students » Cocurricular » Sport

Sport 

Contact:  Paul Geddes pgeddes@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

The school offers a wide variety of cocurricular sports for boys and girls starting in Year 3. Cocurricular sports activities are listed below. Summary of cocurricular sports offered in 2016 for Year 1 - 12

Athletics

Y3-6 Boys and girls

Annual HICES representative athletics carnival, CIS, NSW PSSA, Nationals

Selection based on performance at the Prep Athletics Carnival

Contact: Jim McAtamney  jmcatamney@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Y7-12
Boys and girls

Annual ISA representative athletics carnival, CIS, NSW All Schools, Nationals

Selection based on performance at the Senior Athletics Carnival

Contact: Paul Geddes  pgeddes@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Basketball

Y3-6 Boys and girls

Training various.  Local competition after school at Bridgecoast Stadium, Terrigal

Selection by internal trial

Contact: Kim Vernon-Elliott  kvernon-elliott@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Y7-12 Boys and girls

Training, various. ISA competition, Saturdays

Selection by internal trial

Contact:  (acting convenor girls)  Paul Geddes  pgeddes@ccgs.nsw.edu.au
Contact:  (boys) Sandra Peebles  speebles@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Cricket

Y3-6 Boys

Training Wed 3.15 – 4.30pm.  Central Coast Cricket Association competition

Selection by internal trial

Contact:  Matthew Phillips  mphillips@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

1st XI Boys

Training days various.  ISA competition, Saturdays

Contact:  Matthew Phillips  mphillips@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Cross Country

Y3-6 Boys and girls

Annual HICES representative cross country carnival, CIS, NSW PSSA, Nationals

Selection based on performance at Prep cross country carnival

Contact:  Jim McAtamney  jmcatamney@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Y7-12
Boys and girls

Annual ISA representative cross country carnival, CIS, NSW All Schools, Nationals

Selection based on performance at Senior cross country carnival

Contact:  Paul Geddes  pgeddes@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Equestrian

K-Y12 Girls

Equestrian events throughout NSW including the EFA Interschool Championships.  Variety of disciplines, all levels of rider, from led ponies to high level competition. 

Open to students who can already ride and can provide their own horse

Contact:  Carolyn Whyte  cwhyte@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Football

Y3-6 Boys
Training days Wednesday, play Saturdays. IPSHA competition.

Selection by internal trial

Y7– 12 Girls

Training Tue & Thur,3.15 – 5pm.  ISA competition, Saturdays

Selection by internal trial

Contact:  Trina Hide  thide@ccgs.nsw.edu.au 

Y7– 12
Boys

Training various.  ISA competition, Saturdays

Selection by internal trial

Contacts:  Paul Geddes  pgeddes@ccgs.nsw.edu.au   Lisa Wilkinson  lwilkinson@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Hockey

Y3-6 Boys

Training Wed 3.15 – 4.30pm.  Central Coast Junior Hockey Association competition (Wyong) Saturdays

Selection by internal trial

Contact:  Allyson McNally amcnally@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Y7-12 Girls

Training Tue & Thur 3.15 – 5pm.  ISA competition, Saturdays

Selection by internal trial

Contact:  Lyn Jones  ljones@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Netball

YK-2 'Net Set Go' Girls

Saturday program only

Contacts:  gosfordnetball.com.au/nettas

Y2-6 Girls

Training Wed 3.15 – 4.30pm. Saturday competition at Adcock Park, Gosford

Selection by internal trial

Contacts:  Roslyn Hayles rhayles@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Y7-12 Girls

Training, various.  ISA competition, Saturdays

Selection by internal trial

Contact:  Gemma Carpenter  gemmacarpenter@optusnet.com.au

Rugby

Y3-6 Boys

Training Wed 3.15 – 4.30pm. IPSHA competition, Saturdays, Greater Sydney

Selection by internal trial

Contact:  Steve Dunstan  sdunstan@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Y7-12 Boys

Training Tue & Thur, 3.15 – 5pm.  ISA competition, Saturdays

Selection by internal trial

Contacts:  Paul Geddes pgeddes@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Snowsports

Y2-12 Boys and girls

Northern Region, State & National Inter-Schools snowsports competition at Thredbo & Perisher Blue resorts.  Snowboarding and skiing.

Contact:  Kim Vernon-Elliott  kvernon-elliott@ccgs.nsw.edu.au 

Softball

Y7-12 Girls

Training Thur, 3.15 – 5pm. ISA competition, Saturdays

Selection by internal trial

Contact:  Ross Farrelly  rfarrelly@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Swimming

Y3-6 Boys and girls

Annual HICES representative swimming carnival, CIS, NSW PSSA, Nationals

Selection based on performance at Prep swimming carnival

Contact:  Samantha Marker  smarker@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Y7-12 Boys and girls

Annual ISA representative swimming carnival, CIS, NSW All Schools, Nationals

Selection based on performance at Senior swimming carnival

Contact:  Samantha Marker  smarker@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Tennis

 Y3-6 Boys and girls

Game only Friday evening, Gosford Tennis Centre

Selection by internal trial

Contact:  John Clugston  jclugston@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Y7-12 Boys and girls

Training Thur, 3.15 – 5pm. ISA competition, Saturdays

Selection by internal trial

Contact:  Peter Roper  proper@ccgs.nsw.edu.au

Oz Tag

 Y1-6 Boys and girls

Game only Tuesday.

Y7-9 Boys and girls

Game only Tuesday.

Sporting Associations

  • HICES (Heads of Independent Co-educational Schools) 
  • IPSHA (Independent Primary School Heads Association ) 
  • ISA (Independent Sporting Association). ISA member schools
  • CIS (Combined Independent Schools) provides on avenue for all Senior School students to represent through to the highest levels. To qualify a student must first be approved to represent the School, trial and be selected in an ISA Representative team and then be selected into the CIS team. A student may progress from this level to State and even onto National Selection. 
  • The Junior School competes in the local competitions in Basketball, Cricket, Netball and Hockey.

ISA (Independent Sporting Association)

The ISA provides the opportunities for inter-school sport, and includes weekend sport as well as annual Athletics, Cross Country and Swimming Carnivals. Students may gain selection to represent the ISA in competitions against students from other associations of both state and independent schools.

ISA Member Schools

HICES (Heads of Independent Coeducational Schools) 

HICES member schools
All Saints Grammar School, All Saints’ College, Arden Anglican School, Arndell Anglican College, Bankstown Grammar School, Bishop Druitt College, Blue Mountains Grammar School, Broughton Anglican College, Central Coast Grammar School, Chevalier College, Emanuel School, Hunter Valley Grammar School, International Grammar School, Kinross Wolaroi School, Lakes Grammar, Macarthur Anglican School, Macquarie Anglican Grammar School, Masada College, Moriah College, Newcastle Grammar School, Northholm Grammar School, Oxley College, Penrith Anglican College, Radford College, Rouse Hill Anglican College, SCECGS Redlands, Scone Grammar School, Shellharbour Anglican College, Snowy Mountains Grammar School, St. Andrew’s Cathedral School, St. Luke’s Grammar School, St. Paul’s Grammar School, The Hills Grammar School, The Illawarra Grammar School, The McDonald College, The Pittwater House School, Thomas Hassall Anglican College, William Carey Christian School, William Clarke College,
Wollondilly Anglican College and Wycliffe Christian School

Central Coast Academy of Sport

In 2013 a 3 year community partnership was established with Central Coast Academy of Sport (CCAS) to support the development of the region’s aspiring athletes. Central Coast Grammar School is a community partner and sponsor of specific CCAS sports programs including Netball, Rugby Union, Women’s Rugby Sevens, as well as the newly announced Future Stars Programs that identifies and supports pre-elite athletes in their chosen sport.

Learn more about the Central Coast Academy of Sport